The Pier Geelong’s History
The pier itself was first built in the 1850’s originally known as ‘Railway Pier’ it was used for loading and unloading cargo. The pier was re-built in the late 1920s and renamed Cunningham Pier in 1929. The facility was unused for a period of time until the 1980s where it became a party pier playing host to Geelong’s New Year on the Pier and more so from the mid 90’s when it was widely visited as a Smorgy’s restaurant, until it’s current transformation as The Pier Geelong, along with Wah Bar and Wah Wah Gee in 2010.
Situated 250 metres out over Corio Bay is the beautiful two-storey weatherboard building with over 3000sq.m of floor space, the tired weatherboard beauty was reborn in 2010, in the hands of the EMC Group and was renamed The Pier Geelong. The Directors had noticed a hole in the Geelong function and event space, catering for guests in excess of 300 attendees. Our vision was to develop an entertainment precinct with the goal to make it a key destination in Geelong that attracts both the local market, visitors from Melbourne, regional Victoria and international guests.
The EMC Group
The Pier Geelong falls under the umbrella organisation of ‘The Event Management Company (EMC) Group,’ which boasts a portfolio of charismatic and iconic Geelong nightspots and venues and includes The Pier Geelong, Denny’s Kitchen, Edge, Lambys Tavern, Wah Bah and Wah Wah Gee. Each venue offers a unique style and personality of their own.
Our purpose: To offer the customer authentic hospitality with the best possible service, selection, quality and value. And to inspire and nurture our people by creating a culture of belonging, where everyone is welcome.